Graphic Designer

Articles

Updated: October 17th, 2021

Hair discrimination: Is hair discrimination race discrimination?

 https://www.americanbar.org/groups/business_law/publications/blt/2020/05/hair-discrimination


Background resources on Black hair discrimination and bias

https://www.naacpldf.org/wp-content/uploads/LDF-Primer-on-Hair-Discrimination-Resources-FINAL.pdf

What’s Lost When Black Children Are Socialized Into a White World. https://www.theatlantic.com/education/archive/2019/11/how-black-mothers-prepare-their-children-school/599578/

How Racial Stress Impacts My Parenting.

https://www.parents.com/kids/responsibility/racism/how-racial-stress-impacts-my-parenting/?utm_source=twitter.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=social-share-article

The Extra Stigma of Mental Illness for African Americans.

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/08/25/well/mind/black-mental-health.html

How Racial Trauma Affects Your Adolescent: https://psychcentral.com/lib/racial-trauma-adolescents

Tips on Seeking Therapy for Kids: https://www.therapyforblackkids.org/blog/tips-on-seeking-therapy-help-for-kids?fbclid=IwAR0FDkiySKctCmM8TJv2zgxDcijJbldyQDVa_LT3mscNUl8ijy2g5B99x9o

Raising Anti-Racist Children: https://www.apa.org/monitor/2021/06/anti-racist-children?utm_source=linkedin&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=apa-monitor-racism&utm_content=anti-racist-children

What We Owe and are Owed: https://www.vox.com/the-highlight/22419450/kiese-laymon-justice-fairness-black-america

Four Things You Can Do to Support Your Teen’s Mental Health: https://www.unicef.org/parenting/health/four-things-you-can-do-support-your-teens-mental-health?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=organic-en&utm_content=link-support-teen-mentalhealth&utm_campaign=pm-2021-en&fbclid=IwAR1puMDLDelCe3vjWlh_XJJNYLcipeExJ0WeJqIHiC8FBkhFmHV1l2i1P5Q

How Someone Depressed Can Be All Smiles: https://goodmenproject.com/health/how-someone-depressed-can-be-all-smiles-bbab/?fbclid=IwAR2LJ5Nt1-SvYeGrFD5FrRpyQAVDAlVJLl7qYB83IjoWeBR4i7PpaoT01vc

Education Usually Improves Health. But Racism Sabotages Benefits For Black Men: https://www.npr.org/sections/health-shots/2021/05/18/996577905/racism-derails-black-mens-health-even-as-education-levels-rise?fbclid=IwAR1ym_u0PAd44BNDUlabrQCIKsjfm5NDvhCS4hsrWCV8IHCEpkDHD5YpLPs

News about Racial Violence Harms Black People’s Mental Health: https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/news-about-racial-violence-harms-black-peoples-mental-health/

What Is Critical Race Theory, and Why Is It Under Attack?: https://www.edweek.org/leadership/what-is-critical-race-theory-and-why-is-it-under-attack/2021/05

Racial Stress and Self-care/ Parenting Tip Tool: https://www.apa.org/res/parent-resources/racial-stress

How COVID Isolation, Loss And Racism Deepened Crises For Children Of Color: https://www.wbur.org/news/2021/06/25/boston-kids-of-color-mental-health-pandemic

Talking to Kids about Race and Mental Health: https://afsp.org/story/talking-to-kids-about-race-and-mental-health-six-tips?fbclid=IwAR28q3TvuvdlF60ik9nxnpumoG5SW5MBqggLmRvBRsqBXSakZhYzsU3sRyM

Increasing Rates of Suicide Among Black Youth Exhorts the Need for Research: https://www.clinicalpainadvisor.com/home/topics/pediatric-pain-management/increasing-rates-of-suicide-among-black-youth-exhorts-the-need-for-research/

Addressing Mental Health in the Black Community: https://thegabber.com/addressing-mental-health-in-the-black-community/

How to Talk to Your Friends and Family About Race, According to Psychologists: https://www.womenshealthmag.com/life/a32734555/how-to-talk-to-friends-family-racism/

How Building A Positive Self-Image Helps Parents and Black Children Cope with Racial Stress: https://successfulblackparenting.com/2019/06/02/how-building-a-positive-self-image-helps-parents-and-black-children-cope-with-racial-stress/

Mental Health: Elevating Voices to Fight Stigma and Build Trust: https://www.everydayhealth.com/black-health-facts/mental-health/

For Black Children, Play Can Be Transformative: https://greatergood.berkeley.edu/article/item/for_black_children_play_can_be_transformative#.YRM-M00aL64.twitter

The Older People Think a Black Child is, the More Likely They are to Wrongly See the Child as Angry: https://medicalxpress.com/news/2021-08-older-people-black-child-wrongly.html